Vaccine? Quarantine? Masking? We know, there’s a lot to keep track of. Be sure to check local guidelines so you’re aware of all travel requirements before you go.
What you can expect during your visit
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Safety precautions are provided by the tour operator and are not checked by Viator for accuracy
12 hours (approx.)
Offered in: English and 7 more
Discover the best of Berlin on this all-in-one shore excursion from Warnemunde Port. Head to Germany’s capital and visit some of its key landmarks such as Charlottenburg Palace, the Brandenburg Gate, the Berlin Wall, Checkpoint Charlie and more. Learn about the city’s history from your informative guide as you traverse every corner of this alternative city before heading back to your ship.
Take a full-day tour of Berlin from your cruise ship dock in Warnemunde
Explore Germany’s capital and learn about its vibrant history
See landmarks like Checkpoint Charlie and the Memorial to the Murdered Jews
Enjoy a stress-free trip with provided transportation and tour guide
Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
Fully private tour
5/15/2022 - 8/26/2023
Monday - Sunday:
06:30 AM - 10:00 AM
Private Tour w Shared Transfer
5/15/2022 - 8/26/2023
Monday - Sunday:
06:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Last Minute- Shared Tour Promo
8/7/2022 - 8/23/2022
Monday - Sunday:
06:30 AM - 09:30 AM
Start at a Berlin Hotel
8/7/2022 - 8/26/2023
Monday - Sunday:
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM
This activity will end right where it started.When you disembark from your cruise ship, please make your way outside to the terminal entrance. One of our representatives will be waiting for you displaying a greeting sign that reads: “Baltic Experience"
If your ship is delayed, don’t worry. The starting time of your tour will be postponed to within 30 minutes after your ship docks. If for any reason you are not with our driver by this time, please call us immediately.
Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 7 days of travel. In this case confirmation will be received within 48 hours, subject to availability
Not wheelchair accessible
Not recommended for travelers with back problems
No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
Most travelers can participate
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 35 travelers
OPERATED BY Vexperio | Essence of Berlin | www.vexperio.com | www.essenceofberlin.com
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.
Had a Tour guide from UK. Provided a very “political” tour. Tour was 90% focused on 15 years of a 2000 year history of Germany. Mentioned many time about how Germany “lost” as and England won the war. Not sure what this has to do with Berlin?? His name was Walid. I will never ever book with this tour group again given what happened. Absolutely disgusting. The information provided was many times not even factual. In any other forum this behaviour would be discrimination
Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review and inform us about your concerns. We truly appreciate it, as it helps us improve our tours, as well as misspell some misunderstandings that might have occurred.
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy the tour with Walid. Walid is a historian who has lived and guided in Berlin for a few decades and is one of the most experienced, sought-after, and skilled professionals, also licensed by the city of Berlin for giving official tours of the Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial. We are very lucky that he originally stems from the UK and is an English native speaker, as this ensures smooth communication with our guests and the highest quality for our tours. We have received tens of glowing reviews for him in the past - and in fact for this very tour that you attended we also received a stellar 5-star review for another customer. We have never before received any negative feedback about Walid so we are very surprised and saddened that you did not enjoy the tour with him.
As for the factual discrepancies: we can confirm that Germany did indeed lose WWII - seeing as you put quotation marks around the word lost, makes us think that maybe this point was misunderstood. As it is a historical fact, we do not feel discriminated against for being called out on it. Our country is also not 2000 years old, as you wrote in your review. We spoke to the other guest who attended your tour and gave us a 5-star review and she informed us Walid did explain that Germany was first formed as a nation in 1871. In the past 200 years (maybe 2000 was a typo?) Germany's politics have influenced and shaped the global landscape, and since Berlin is the German capital it is of course quite relevant to be political when discussing the history of Berlin. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy that - perhaps next time you might enjoy one of our non-historical tours, with free time for shopping and exploring the city on your own.
Once again thank you for taking the time to let us know how you feel. I hope to have helped with some of the misunderstood pieces of information!
Joanna & Boris
Owners at Essence of Berlin and Vexperio
Our tour guide, Boris, was such a good teacher of the Berlin History that it made me wish I had him in high school. Seriously, made the whole day all come together as he expertly explained a difficult history. Loved all the places we saw and will be forever engrained in my memory.
The tour itself was good. Our guide (Matt Robinson) was friendly and knowledgeable. We hit all of the stops even with a marathon and Nato dignitaries in town. However, the seats on the bus were very uncomfortable for a three-hour ride (each way) and the morning pick-up was a disaster. We were told via email to be at the bus at 7:00am and look for someone with a sign stating "Baltic Experience". The host at the bus wasn't displaying a sign (we had to ask which bus) and then were later told by the host that we didn't need to be at the bus until 7:30. Then to make matters worse, we wait for another 20 mins for a couple to show up on the bus because they're meeting the Ambassador from Guatamala and they need a lift to Berlin (not even taking the tour). The host explained that she was told that we had to wait on this couple. So we sat on the hard seats of the bus for 50 mins before even leaving the ship terminal. Completely disorganized and disrespectful to the people showing up on time.
Thank you very much for your review and your comments.
We are incredibly sorry about the troubles experienced by you in the morning. I have spoken to our staff at the port and your tour guide in Berlin. Both our host and the bus did have the appropriate sign displayed in the port, but as there are often many passengers disembarking at once, the port can get quite full, which is why you might have not noticed the sign immediately. We will consider bringing larger signs to the port so that one can find us easier. Furthermore, I was happy to hear that even despite the slight delay with departing, your group managed to see all the sights in Berlin without rush, as per our itinerary.
As for the wait at the port: since your cruise ship is the biggest one that arrives at our port, it often takes a long time for everybody to disembark. As much as we try to leave on time, there are unfortunately sometimes delays if the ship takes too long to let everybody out. But we will certainly take your comments into consideration and will try and find a better solution for meeting our guests in the morning so that nobody is inconvenienced with too long a wait.
Finally, a few words about our vehicles: I am really sorry that you did not find our bus comfortable. We have been conducting these tours for well over a decade and have not gotten any complaints about the comfort of buses before. In fact, there are various restrictions in place for vehicles entering the city center of Berlin for environmental reasons; and as such only, the most modern, newest buses are allowed to drive in. Therefore we only have new and modern vehicles in our fleet. We will however inspect the bus in question to see how your comfort could have been affected and how we can avoid it in the future.
Please do accept our sincerest apologies for this situation. We take great pride in organizing our tours most efficiently, to the complete satisfaction of our customers, so we were extremely saddened to hear you felt disrespected during the morning check-in procedures.
We will take steps to improve our services. Thank you very much for taking the time to assist us with doing so with your helpful comments!
Essence of Berlin
Matt Robinson was the best guide I have ever had in all my years of traveling. Berlin was a great learning experience but also really enjoyable. We saw everything we wanted to see and left thoroughly satisfied.
If you only have a one day ship excursion to "see" Berlin, you couldn't do better than this. The tour company has plenty of representatives on hand and the process of boarding the buses is quick and easy. After a pleasant ride through the North German countryside you go through a tunnel and your in Berlin. Your guide boards the bus and you're off.
Our trip was "Reunification Day" which might have interfered with the trip. Our guide was not only familiar with the events scheduled, but what to see first to avoid closures and crowds. So while the itinerary changed, we saw everything we wanted to. Our guide, who had lived in Berlin for some time not only was knowledgeable of the City, but also about the events that had created the Berlin of today.
The only disappointment was lunch. It may have been due to the changed itinerary, but I felt the plan for us to find a lunch spot on our own was not the best idea, or in the best area by "Checkpoint Charlie." I wish we had had a better idea of where to eat, or gone as a group.
This trip does give a really good "first glance" of Berlin. There are a lot of things that we couldn't do because of time. Once again Viator had an outstanding guide for us, great coordination to get to the tour, and value for the price.
All of the tours we took with viator was 5 star. The tour guide was knowledgable and experience, he took the time to explain and manage our time to get back to the ship. The bathroom stops was a challenge and you need to coins to use the bathroom. The stores will not break a 100 eu for small change. There was a desk upon arrival at the port which had our confirmation and we were able to board a bus which took us into Berlin to join a smaller group.
Because of booking through a third party (Viator) I was unable to get clear answers to questions specifically from the company offering the tour prior to the tour; e.g. where the tour company would be located once disembarking the ship or what happens if I can't get off the ship in time or how to add a guest the night before the tour, etc.
Process once off the ship of finding the tour was easy.
Bus was clean and had WiFi.
Tour guide was awesome.
Bus stopped at a truck stop on the way to Berlin and the bathroom only took exact Euro change. Many people had no euros yet, and the truck stop did not have an ATM. My group and several others could not use the bathroom. I suggest the tour company give everyone a Euro to use the bathroom -- increase the tour cost if you have to, or offer an exchange.
Bus driver, while nice and safe, was extremely slow. We hit traffic on the way to Berlin and it took us 4+ hours to get there from the cruise ship. It took us 4 hours to get back. Basically, 8+ hours of travel for 4 hours of site seeing. The driver could have gone much faster on the way home -- I Google Mapped the way home and it said we could have made it in </= 3 hours using any of three map options.
Hi there, thanks for sharing your experience. It is commonplace that you have to pay to use the bathroom in Germany. We know it’s frustrating, which is why we brief all our guests in the pre-tour email contact, and also have information on the buses too. Regarding the journey to/from Berlin, you are correct that on Google maps the estimated journey time from Warnemünde to Berlin and vice versa is roughly 3 hours. This information is based on the approximate journey of a sedan and the fact that portions of the highway in Germany have no speed limits. The bus, being much larger, is slower than a sedan, and is subject to a speed limit of a maximum of 100km/h for the purposes of passenger safety. It cannot travel at excessive speed even if there is no speed limit on a particular section of highway. Our bus drivers drive as quickly, and more importantly, as safely as possible. On the day you visited Berlin with us part of the highway was closed due to a bridge closure, forcing the bus driver to take a different, and unfortunately longer route to Berlin. These circumstances were certainly not the norm, and were unfortunately beyond our control. We’re happy that in spite of the shortened time you managed to visit all sites on the itinerary and had a great time with our guide. If you would like a more in-depth tour of the city, we’d love to welcome you back to Berlin and offer a discount for future visits.
Hi there, thanks for sharing your experience. We're sorry that you felt there was too much time spent on the bus driving to, and back from, Berlin. It is, however, clearly stated in the tour description, our promotional material, and the pre-tour email we send, that the journey to and from Berlin takes around three hours – potentially more with bad traffic, road closures etc. The bus transfer is a logistical necessity of our Berlin tour from the ports of Warnemünde/Rostock. It's great to hear you enjoyed the Berlin portion of the tour. We hope to see you back in Berlin in future!
It started late at the beginning.We have to wait on the bus for more than 15 mins from starting time. After arrival Berlin, we met the guide and always asked us to stand in the strong wind to hear him talking about the history. It seems he was talking too much instead of taking us to hang around. It waste lots of our time. Overall, it is not good and won't join again.
Hi there, thanks for sharing your experience of our Berlin shore excursion. We're sorry that you felt let down. First and foremost, though, this is a historical and cultural tour. Our guides have a responsibility to show as many sites as possible, and share with you as much of the city's history as possible, in the limited time that you have in the city. Furthermore, this is a public tour, with other guests who want to explore the city as much as possible. To spend time 'hanging around' would be to the detriment of everyone else on the tour. If you return to Berlin in the future we would love to host you on one of our private tours – where we can tailor the itinerary to your wishes. Again, thanks for sharing.
Difficult to see a city like Berlin in a few hours but this tour made a good attempt to hit the highlights and provide a overview of the history of the area. Long ride from Warnemunde to Berlin and it would have been helpful to have a guide on board to give background on Germany prior to arriving in Berlin. Your guide Lyndsy did a great job with our group. Very knowledgeable, well organized and helpful at a ATM.
We completely lucked out and had Taylor as our guide. His hunger for history and his understanding of it made it so enjoyable. I left knowing more than I knew and left wanting to know more than I learned. Loved him!!!!
You can only submit a review or rating of an experience to Viator if you were the person who made the booking through Viator. Before publication, each review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information for each of the following criteria: who, what, how, and when. If the system detects something that contradicts our publication criteria, the review is not published. When the system detects a problem with a review, it may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site. In some cases, we will also send you an email asking you to validate your review before it is published. All you need to do is click on the link provided in the email. After publication, our team checks each review reported to it as not meeting our publication criteria. Tripadvisor reviews that appear on the Viator site are subject to the same checks and moderation processes as set out above. It is not necessary to have booked an experience through Viator (or Tripadvisor) to submit a review of an experience to the Tripadvisor site.
Why you are seeing these recommendations
Compare Similar Experiences
All-in-One Berlin Shore Excursion from Warnemunde and Rostock Port with WiFi
Viator wants to make your searches as relevant as possible. That’s why we offer many ways to help you find the right experiences for you. On some pages, you can select how to sort the results we display and also use filter options to see only those search results that meet your chosen preferences. You’ll see explanations of what those sort options mean when you select them. You’ll see some experiences with a “Promoted” badge, which means that the operators of those experiences have agreed to pay Viator more to have their experience highlighted. If you see an Experience Award Winner label, the award is based on average review ratings, share of bookings with a review, and number of bookings through Viator over a 12-month period. The importance of any one factor over any other in a sort order varies, and the balance is constantly being reviewed and adjusted. We’re always updating our systems and testing new ways to refine and improve your results to make them as relevant as possible to meet your needs.
Lowest Price Guarantee
We guarantee the lowest price on all 200,000+ experiences we sell. If you find the same product cheaper within three days of booking or while you're in your destination, we'll refund the difference.
It's Easy To Do
Gather your information
Assemble your Viator Booking Number or Itinerary Reference Number and the proof of the lower price you found.