Recent Searches
Clear

Juneau Wildlife Whale Watching & Mendenhall Glacier

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Juneau, United States
Juneau Wildlife Whale Watching & Mendenhall Glacier

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

The Mendenhall Glacier is one of Juneau’s most impressive natural wonders, stretching over 13 miles (21 kilometers). On this half-day tour, enjoy spectacular views of the glacier from the viewing platforms and walkways, and learn more about the mighty glacier at the Visitor Center. Then, set sail on a thrilling whale-watching cruise along the coast and look out for humpback whales, as well as other wildlife such as bald eagles and blue heron.
  • Magnificent views of the Mendenhall Glacier
  • See humpback whales in their natural environment
  • Hassle-free round-trip transfers from Juneau
  • Choice of departure times throughout the day
Saved to wishlist!
100% Guarantee to see Whales
Roundtrip Transportation from Cruise Terminal
Snacks
Bottled water
Live commentary on board
Driver/guide
Port pickup and drop-off
Round-trip shared transfer
None
Juneau Cruise Ship Terminal Area , 470 S Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801, USA
Departure Point: Tour check-in is centrally located at the main cruise ship terminal in downtown Juneau. Address: Under the tent on the wooden pier on the water-side of the Mt. Robert's Tramway Building:  Behind: 490 S Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801 Directions: Please meet your tour representative 15 minutes before the scheduled departure time underneath the tent on the wooden dock that is on the water-side of the large red Mt Robert's Tramway building at the main Cruise Ship Terminal (the tramway building houses the gondola that goes up the mountain). The address is 490 S Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801. Your Alaska Tales Tour Representative will be holding a sign that will read, Alaska Tales. If you have any trouble finding this person, please call. IMPORTANT: If you are on a cruise ship that is docking at the AJ dock a shuttle is available to the Mt. Roberts Tramway building where the tour departs from. Cost is generally $3.00 for an all day pass, which is offered by your cruise line HOTEL GUESTS: If you are an overnight guest staying outside of downtown Juneau and/or have your own transportation, you may prefer to meet us at the harbor in Auke Bay instead of the downtown meeting location. If you prefer to meet directly at the harbor, please email us as there are different meeting times and instructions.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Collapsable Wheelchairs Only
  • No Motorized Scooters
  • No Motorized Wheelchairs
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 49 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Alaska Tales
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Juneau Wildlife Whale Watching & Mendenhall Glacier?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Juneau Wildlife Whale Watching & Mendenhall Glacier.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Juneau Wildlife Whale Watching & Mendenhall Glacier?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Juneau Wildlife Whale Watching & Mendenhall Glacier.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "The walk is easy enough for those who have trouble walking (e.g." See review
  • "Both activities are well worth it but we was disappointed that their was not enough time to walk out to the glacier." See review
  • "Easy flat walk on a well maintained path to the falls and glacier viewing area." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

5.0
star-5
2,112 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 2,112 reviews
star-5
All about timing !!!
SusanLynette_A
, Aug 2022
We had an amazing time, watched whales Flame and Cinder for a bit then Captain James took the boat to an area where they had spotted a group of 7 whales bubble netting and we stayed to enjoy the rare treat. Olive was our advisor that shared tons of information. Thanks for the great day.
star-5
Highly recommend. Exceeded expectations
Kevin_J
, Aug 2022
Great trip. Brief visit to glacier, but time to walk to waterfall or visit visitor center. Great views with minimal walking if desired. Whales were highlight. Saw 8+ individual whales using bubble net feeding technique. Apparently rare. We were only forth trip of the year to witness that. Greg, Taz and James were very nice and knowledgeable.
star-4
Very good tour
Edwin_S
, Aug 2022
Very good tour. Enough time to view the glacier from a distance but not to walk up close. Excellent views from a distance; puts the size of the glacier in perspective. Whale watching was excellent. The naturalist provided very good narrative and the boat captain knew how to position the boat for probably seeing whales. We had multiple good sightings.
star-5
Great Trip
David_L
, Aug 2022
Crew was excellent. Boat was good, although somewhat crowded. We had a great day: Sunny, saw 6 whales, 2 breaching. Only disappointment was maritime law prevented us from getting closer to the whales. Really enjoyed the day.
star-5
Killer Whale Alert
Janet_B
, Aug 2022
We had the rare pleasure of viewing a pod of about 10 orcas, as well as humpback whales. What an incredible treat!
star-5
Fantastic
Stacie_B
, Aug 2022
Amazing experience! The short hike to the glacier and waterfall were beautiful! Our captain took us right to some awesome whales and Monica and Greg were very good & informational! Would highly recommend this!
star-5
Breathing table Juneau, Alaska
MariaIzabel_B
, Aug 2022
Nuggets Falls Trails 👣 at the Mendenhall Glacier and taking pictures of the Whales 🐋 while watching them swimming.
star-4
Nice
David_d
, Aug 2022
Ramsey and her crew did a great job.They were very kind and professionals but we don't see as much whales as we expected.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great day, great trip!
George_B
, Aug 2022
While whale watching on the boat we got to see numerous whales. Josh, Will and Monica took us right to the whales and spent time explaining what to look for in order to have the best sightings. Definitely was one of my favorite excursions while in Alaska.
star-3
Not worth the price
Denise_K
, Jul 2022
I would have had the option to cancel the same day because of the rain. We only saw a couple of whale fins, but nothing else. The rain meant pictures came out terrible. Also I didn’t feel like we got close enough to the whales we did see.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
We are required by federal law to stay a regulated distance away from the whales. This is to protect the wildlife and to ensure they stay wild. We will always follow these regulations to protect them. Sometimes the whales come closer to the boats and we cannot control that as they are wildlife and do what they want, but we will always do our part to not harm them. Thank you for your feedback.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great trip!
Connie_H
, Jul 2022
Whales are for sure a lot faster than I am but I truly enjoyed seeing what I seen! Our guides for whale watching we’re amazing and tried to please all of us on the boat! Highly recommend them!
star-5
Falls and glacier were...
Olivia_B
, Jul 2022
Falls and glacier were great . Wish would let you have more than 1 hr, too rushed. Bus diver was very informative.
star-5
Excellent Tour
kbachmann60187
, Jul 2022
The captain of the ship and the naturalist were exceedingly knowledgeable friendly and very approachable. They could not have been nicer. We had an excellent experience with over 21 whale sightings - however some were the same whales. It was most enjoyable and delivered everything that Viators promised. The usual dependable reliable and excellent tour.
star-5
Whale Tales
Eugenia_B
, Jul 2022
The staff were very knowledgeable and friendly. Olive was a wealth of information on whales. Captain Brandon was fantastic at finding whales. At one point there were whales breaching at once. We saw lots of whales.
star-2
Whales were far away
CindyHolmstrom
, Jul 2022
I was very disappointed that we did not see any whales up close. All whale sightings were from very far away, only visible with binoculars.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Cindy, We are required by law to stay 100 yards away from the whales. This is for wildlife protection and is enforced by the government agency NOAA. Though we understand you would want to get closer, this is not allowed. Sometimes the whales come to the boats, but we cannot control that.
star-5
A whale of a time!
Zella_B
, Jul 2022
Mendenhall was fascinating and beautiful even in cold rainy weather we had that day. Crew on boat were great. Again cold and rainy but still had a good whale experience
star-5
Humpback whales and calves
FRANK_F
, Jul 2022
It was easy finding the meeting spot when we got off our boat and staff was very nice. We saw Mendenhall Gacier and then went on the whale watching tour. Seeing the Humpback whales and calves was awesome. Staff on the boat were all very nice
star-3
not that many whales. or wildlife
Maria_G
, Jul 2022
unfortunately it wasn't what we expected. We have friends that took a different tour recently and saw tons of wildlife. We saw very little. i bit dissapointed.
star-5
Exceeded Expectations
Janice_O
, Jul 2022
The whales put on an amazing show. I wasn’t sure if I would see any whales. We also saw sea lions. Greg was knowledgeable and very accommodating. The glacier was awesome.
star-5
The most memorable part...
Rhonda_E
, Jul 2022
The most memorable part of my experience was that we actually saw whales and we were excited to see them. It was also good to have knowledgeable tour guides. Kristen, James, and Sarah were great.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Juneau Wildlife Whale Watching & Mendenhall Glacier
Juneau Wildlife Whale Watching & Mendenhall Glacier

star-52049

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$162.75

star-51937

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$131.25

star-574

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$187.95

star-4.5109

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$173.25

star-439

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$75.00

star-5105

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$214.32

star-560

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$214.31

star-5284

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$208.95

star-5172

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$343.55
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations