Recent Searches
Clear

Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch

star-4.5185 Reviews
|
Napa, United States
Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Non-refundable
You will not receive a refund if you cancel. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon5 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Make your day in wine country memorable on a fun tour aboard the Napa Valley Wine Trolley. The open-air cable car is a replica of the historic trolleys seen in San Francisco and offers gorgeous views of the vineyards as you travel to three wineries to sample the local blends. An expert guide will accompany you along the way, providing entertaining and factual commentary about Napa’s rich history. Midday, stop for a lunch at Ottimo Napa Valley, a local favorite.
  • Napa wine country tour by open-air trolley
  • Experience Napa’s gorgeous scenery from a fun and unique perspective
  • Ride in a replica of a historic San Francisco cable car
  • Visit three family-owned wineries or tasting rooms
  • Pickup and drop-off from Oxbow Market included
Saved to wishlist!
Lunch
Pick-up from San Francisco is NOT included
Gratuities
Wine-tasting fees at each winery (USD$30 to $40 per winery)
Oxbow Public Market , 610 1st St, Napa, CA 94559, USA

Trolley will arrive around 10:00 AM across the street from the Oxbow Public Market at 610 1st St, Napa in the south parking lot. You will see the trolley and hear it ringing its bell. Pick up is between 10:00 am and 10:15 am. Trolley will depart at 10:15 sharp.

10:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
Your wine country experience will begin with pickup at Oxbow Market in Napa. Hop aboard the open-air Napa Valley Wine Trolley and soak up the views as you take off. A local guide will join you on board to pass along stories about the region’s wine culture and history.

You’ll make stops at three family-run wineries or tastings rooms. Learn about the local cellars, their notable varietals and what makes this region one of the best in the world. (Please note that wine-tasting fees range between USD$25 - $35 and are not included with your ticket.)

Stop for lunch catered by Ottimo Napa Valley, a local favorite. All served family style!

After lunch with your fellow travelers and a full day of wine tasting, your trolley will return you to Oxbow Market. There are several wonderful dining options in the area if you’d like to continue exploring around Napa.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Oxbow Public Market
You’ll be picked up at Napa’s Oxbow Market in the late morning for a 6-hour tour on the Napa Valley Wine Trolley, an open-air vehicle modeled after a historic 1890s San Francisco cable car. Enjoy the wind in your air as you take in the beautiful sights and smells of Napa wine country. Your friendly, knowledgeable guide will keep you entertained with commentary and stories about Napa’s history and wine culture.
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Napa Valley
Visit four family-owned Napa Valley wineries for private wine-tasting sessions. Your hosts will explain the different varietals you taste and give you a background on the wineries (wine-tasting fees are not included; fees range between USD$20 and 35). Stop for lunch catered by French-country bistro The Girl & the Fig. Enjoy gourmet sandwiches, side salads, and desserts. All served family style! You’ll have plenty of wonderful photo opportunities throughout your tour, and your guide will be happy to take a photo of your group so you can document your memorable day in wine country. At the end of the day, you’ll be taken back to Oxbow Market – there are plenty of delicious dining options here if you’d like to have dinner after your tour.
Duration: 6 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Operates in all weather conditions; please dress appropriately
  • Jackets and rain protection are recommended in the winter months
  • Minimum age is 21 years
  • No consumption of alcoholic beverages is allowed while riding the trolley
  • You MUST advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Napa Valley Wine Trolley operates “Rain or Shine” year-round. However, if there is a chance of rain, high winds, or unforeseen mechanical problems, we may have to substitute the trolley for a mini-bus. Napa Valley Wine Trolley reserved the right to substitute or change wineries at any time.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Your pick up is at Oxbow Market and the Trolley Departs at 10:15 do not be late.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Foreign language guides offered with notice: Spanish, French and Mandarin. Please contact the supplier directly after booking
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Napa Valley Wine Trolley
This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Yes, you need to purchase your tastings at each tour yourself, but this is clearly indicated in the sign up and if you've done any research ahead of time you'll find it is standard for any Napa tour." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
185 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 185 reviews
star-5
Knowing all the winery...
Donna_L
, Aug 2022
Knowing all the winery locations the experience of tasting the wines 🍷 was great. I think there could not charge a fee of $15 dollars for wine you do not taste That was poor taste for first time visitors
star-2
Disappointing for the cost
Brett_G
, Aug 2022
Disappointing for the cost. The included vineyards weren’t great, one of the three stops wasn’t an actual vineyard but a restaurant were we had lunch. We would have been better off driving around ourselves.
star-5
The Exchange (Birthday wishes for shared stories)
MeChelle_H
, Aug 2022
Lunch was wonderful . I appreciated watching our meal being prepared and cooked as we savored the different wines. The salad was amazing…. So fresh. We enjoyed the service. I appreciated the acknowledgment of my Birthday… I felt quite Special. Thanks for the memories 💕 Last but certainly not least … Our driver was great . He was quite pleasant and made the experience quite enjoyable Thank you!!!
star-5
Sisters in Napa
Elaine_S
, Jul 2022
Lexie our trolley driver was amazing!! The vineyard personnel were very knowledgeable and friendly. My sister and I had a wonderful experience!!!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
We are so happy you and your sister had such a wonderful time. Lexie is a wonderful tour guide and very knowledgeable about the area. Thank You again for the kind words.
star-5
Great wine trolley ride
James_H
, Jul 2022
Weather was perfect. Our driver did a great job of explaining all and being funny. The trip, lunch and wine stops were different and fun. Highly recommend this.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank You so much for the kind words. We are glad you had a great time.
star-5
Met my expectations
Maria_D
, Jul 2022
I had no expectations but once the ride started our guide was funny and well informed of the area, shared history and kept things lively. Never a dull moment. Just remember that if you don't drink wine to turn your wine glass upside down otherwise they'll pour and you'll pay for the tasting. Lovely tour, lunch was great just keep in mind to ask if there'll be vegetarian option. Enjoy.
star-5
Fun for all occasions!
Tonisha_S
, Jul 2022
The lunch was delicious and our guide really knew a lot. The wineries we visited were great! I would definitely take this tour again.
star-5
Napa 5 stars
Jennifer_M
, Jul 2022
Lexie was our guide & did a great job of sharing fun facts about the Napa area. The trolley booked us reservations for 3 great tastings. I’ve been on a few wine tours in different states & this lunch was delicious and fresh. The tastings were outside on the patios, July tour, and relaxed pace. We weren’t rushed and could enjoy the wines. Met some great people during the day.
star-5
Loved this Napa tour
Ally_J
, Jul 2022
We went on our tour for our 25th wedding anniversary. The tour was so much fun. The lunch (pizza and salad) was delicious and the wine tastings were so much fun. Our host Richard was great and really took the time to be sure we all had a good time. We thoroughly did! Recommend the tour. Great value for money.
star-2
Unfortunately, the...
Angela_A
, Jun 2022
Unfortunately, the trolley broke down on our way to lunch. We Uber to yountville for lunch as it was going to be 30 minutes before another shuttle was coming to pick us up. It was really hot and some of the girls in our party were getting sick. One of our girls left before lunch was over. When the shuttle came to get us, the air conditioning was not working either so again it was hot. It was just a bad day all around.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
We are so sorry that this happened, we try to keep our trollies maintained but sometimes things do happen beyond our control. I hope if you are ever in town again you will give us another chance to make things right.
star-1
Was not a good experience.
Jose_F
, Jun 2022
When the trolley broke down in the middle of nowhere and we had to asked for an Uber to return. Tour operator never offered a replacement vehicle.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
I do apologize for this happening, we try to keep a well-maintained fleet of trollies, but sometimes things happen beyond our control. We did have a replacement vehicle come but it did take a little bit for it to arrive. Again, we are sorry this did not live up to your expectations.
star-4
Nice tour
Tiffany_J
, Jun 2022
The winery stops were beautiful however the driver didn't give any verbal commentary only written. Great tour though!
star-2
disappointing
Debra_T
, Jun 2022
This tour has great potential, but was incredibly disappointing. Our tour guide seemed annoyed, rushed and disheveled from the get go. She had zero enthusiasm and the tour felt more like a field trip with a grouchy teacher than a wine country experience. No history, no gusto, just a glorified UBER ride. Would not recommend.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Debra, I am very disappointed myself and completely sorry for your experience. We really pride ourselves in our tours and drivers. Believe me this is not the normal tour. I will have a word with our driver and see what was up. Maybe there was something going on there. Call me when you are in Napa again and I will personally escort you on a tour myself.
star-5
Join in on the fun!
Maellene_D
, Jun 2022
My group and I had so much fun! Lexi and the whole crew went above and beyond- with their stories of the Napa wine country and dad jokes. This tour is good for all occasions, birthday, anniversary, or hey, even a pre-wedding celebration! Whatever group you have, if it’s just you, traveling for two, join in on the fun. Meet new people and make new friends. But let me get to the real review here- hop on aboard the trolley, you are picked up at Oxbow Public Markey, we went a bit early to get some coffee and enjoy some bakery bread at Model Bakery (our favorite). Pick up was at 10 am. The winery stops at 3 locations with an afternoon stop at a winery/lunch 1.) Monticello Vineyards 2.)Ottimo - family style pizza and salads paired with wine tasting/flight and a local marketplace plaza 3.) Napa Cellars - yard and lawn games available The most positive part of this though, was Lexi, our driver, was such a sweetheart! She always had a smile on her face, and checked up on our group and trolley members. With her karaoke sing along playlist - be sure to sing along! Overall, I highly recommend doing this tour. It’s been awhile since everyone had the opportunity to get out and have fun. Don’t be a trolley troll 😊
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-1
Party bus
Michelle_W
, Jun 2022
More than half of the trolley was booked for a pre-wedding party. They were loud, swearing, dancing provocatively, taking shots of liquor in the parking lot before departure and at every stop. They completely took over the entire trip and made everyone uncomfortable. We didn’t get back on after the last stop. We caught an Uber for the ride home.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Michelle, very sorry to hear about your experience. We do not encourage large group parties on our daily tour. Can you call our office and ask for ext 207 so I can discuss the day with you and how we can try and prevent it happening in the future.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Napa Wine Trolley
Ronan_S
, May 2022
Very fun day and well worth the money. Each winery we visited was prepared for us with glasses out and places to sit and listen to the presentation. We visited Monticello, Ottimo, and Napa Cellars. Lunch pizza was plentiful and tasty, and in a cool area. Treated very well.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for the wonderful review.
star-5
Fun Wine and Dine
Sharie_H
, Apr 2022
This was such an awesome experience! Jose, the driver, knew a lot about the wine, production, and the area. Additionally, all of the wine venues had a distinct and cool vibe. I would definitely do it again!
star-5
Great Tour
Claire_B
, Apr 2022
Great tour guide!! We had a really fun & relaxing day and tasted lots of different wines. We had pizza for lunch and it was amazing. I highly recommend this tour. The trolley was a little cool so bring a jacket.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Claire, thanks for the great review - happy people will always find the good in everything. Unlike the comments below yours. Stay happy.
star-4
I was traveling alone but...
Lisa_P
, Apr 2022
I was traveling alone but met lots of fun, friendly people. Richard was very nice informative and engaging with everyone.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great Wine Tour
Estella_H
, Apr 2022
Absolutely worth the money! Great tour of 3 wineries and beautiful scenery. Tour guide, Richard, was wealth of knowledge and witty which made the tour great fun!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch
Likely to Sell Out
Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch

star-4.5185

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$125.00

star-4.5578

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$125.00

star-583

15 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$189.00

star-5480

6 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$129.69

star-4.512

3 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$235.00

star-4.5313

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$124.99

star-4.5462

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$338.00

star-4.537

6 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$129.69

star-526

3 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$235.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations